China Open Winners

BEIJING - APRIL 20: Damien McGrane of Ireland celebrates with the trophy after winning the final round of the Volvo China Open at the Beijing CBD International Golf Club on April 20, 2008 in Beijing, China. (Photo by Ian Walton/Getty Images)

Since the Volvo China Open was jointly sanctioned by both the European Tour and the Asian Tour in 2004, there has been an upsurge of interest in the golf tournament on the part of European Tour players.

Four out of the five previous winners of the Volvo China Open have been from the European Tour, namely:

    • 2009 Volvo China Open winner Scott Strange holds 2 titles in the Asia Tour as well as 2 in the European Tour.
    • Ireland’s Damien McGrane won the 2008 Volvo China Open by nine strokes and has been part of the European Tour since 2003.
    • Austrian Markus Brier, one of only a few international touring golfers produced by Austria, and as of 2007 his country’s highest ranked player
    • Welshman Stephen Dodd, who only achieved real golfing success later in his career

    In 2006, Indian golfer Jeev Milkha Singh became the sole Asian Tour winner of the tournament since the co-sanctioning of the event. He was also the first Indian golfer to become a member of the European Tour. Jeev is now one of the highest-ranking Indian golfers in the world.

    Volvo China Open Winners Before 2004

    The full list of Volvo China Open winners up to 2003:

    • 2003 Zhang Lian-wei
    • 2002 David Gleeson
    • 2001 Charlie Wi
    • 2000 Simon Dyson
    • 1999 Kyi Hla Han
    • 1998 Ed Fryatt
    • 1997 Cheng Jun
    • 1996 Prayad Marksaeng
    • 1995 Raul Fretes

    No golfer has won the Volvo China Open more than once!

    2010 Volvo China Open Prize Money

    The prize money on offer at the Volvo China Open has grown considerably over the years. At the first event, the total prize money was US$400 000. In 2008, it was US$2 million and the prize fund is expected to rise even further for the 2010 Volvo China Open.

    The 2010 Volvo China Open will take place at the Beijing CBD International Golf Club during April 2010.